Tag Archives: Caribou

The Block with Peter Curtin ‘Best Of 2014’ on SPIN South West: Saturday December 20th

21 Dec


Peter presents his annual run down of the best tracks of the year with 106 choice selections in the mix!

Hour 1

Hour 2




God Knows & mynameisjOhn – Maroto [Self]

Pusha T – Lunch Money [Def Jam]

Run The Jewels – Blockbuster Night Part 1 [Mass Appeal]

The Bug ft. Manga – Function [Ninja Tune]

Mr. Oizo – Bear Biscuit [Brainfeeder]

Okmalumkoolkat – Holy Oxygen [Affine]

Flying Lotus ft. Kendrick Lamar – Never Catch Me [Warp]

Swindle – Walters Call [Brownswood]

DJ Rashad X DJ Taso X DJ Spinn – Worldstar VIP [Self]

Little Dragon – Klapp Klapp (Swindle Remix) [Because Music]

Illumsphere – Embryonic (Lone Remix) [Ninja Tine]

Leon Vynehall – Inside The Deku Tree [3024]

Anushka – World in A Room [Brownswood]

Aphex Twin – Minipops 67[120.2][Source Field Mix] [Warp]

Romare – Roots [Ninja Tune]

Airhead – Believe [1-800 DINOSAUR]

Kode 9 & The Spaceape – Pictures On The Wall [Hyperdub]

Herbert – Bumps [Accidental]

Dorian Concept – Ann River, Mn [Ninja Tune]

Julio Bashmore ft. J’Danna – Simple Love [Broadwalk]

Hiatus Kaiyote – By Fire [Flying Buddha/Sony]

Typesun – Little While [Roots Elevation]

Fatima – Ridin’ Round (Sky High) [Eglo]

Mac Miller – ft. Earl Sweatshirt – Polo Jeans [Mixtape]

Raury – Woodcrest Manor [LoveRenaissance]

Adrian Younge Presents The Souls Of Mischief – All You Got Is Your Word [Linear Labs]

Oddisee – La Boulevard Mountemartre [Mello Music]

X – Long Gone [Self]

Kelis – Cobbler [Ninja Tune]

DeRobert & The Half-Truths – Ooo Wee [G.E.D. Soul]

Maurice ‘Mobetta’ Brown ft. Talib Kweli & Saunders Sermons – Fly By Night [Brown]

Common – War [Warner Bros]

Magic Drum Ensemble – Drop It Like It’s Hot [Tru Thoughts]

Karol Conka – Boa Noite [Mr. Bongo]

Shabazz Palaces – They Come In Gold [Sub Pop]

Jonwayne ft. Scoop DeVille – Kenan & Kale [Self]

BADBADNOTGOOD – CS60 [Innovative Leisure]

JWhy – Where Do You Want To Go? [Self]

Redinho – Playing With Fire [Numbers]

Myron & E – Dangerous [Stones Throw]

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings – Stranger To My Happiness [Daptone]

We Are Shining – Hey You! [Marathon Artists]

Charles Trees – Rootwork [Kudos]

Hanni El Khatib ft. GZA – Moonlight (Remix) [Innovative Leisure]

Werkha – Tempo Tempo [Tru Thoughts]

Photay – No Sass [Astro Nautico]

Actress – Rule [Ninja Tune]

Dean Blunt – Punk [Rough Trade]

Jane Weaver – Mission Desire [Bird]

Trudie Dawn Smith – No Pop [Stac]

Martyn – Drones [Ninja Tune]

Black Milk – Detroit’s New Dance Show [Self]


Floating Points – King Bromeliad [Eglo]

Ajukaja & Andrevski – Rare Birds [Levels]

Lone – Restless City [R&S]

Matthewdavid – In My World [Brainfeeder]

Silk Rhodes – Hold Me Down [Stone Throw]

D’Angelo & The Vanguard – Till It’s Done (Tutu) [RCA]

Danny G & The Major 7ths – Be With You [Hipdrop]

Ibeyi – River [XL]

FKA Twigs – Hours [Young Turks]

Mndsgn – Exchanging [Stones Throw]

Nick Hakim – I Don’t Know [Earseed]

Evan – Fall In Love Part 1 [Brownswood]

DJM Trio – DMT Song (Flying Lotus Cover) [Paxico]

Otis Brown III ft. Bilal – The Thought Of You [Blue Note]

James Moran ft. Meschell Ndegeochello – Ain’t Misbehavin’ [Blue Note]

Keyon Harrold – Her Beauty (Through My Eyes) [BeyondJazz]

tUnE-yArDs – Look Around [4AD]

Teebs ft. Jonti – Holiday [Brainfeeder]

Caribou – Silver [City Slang]

Stee Downes – Caught Up (Alex Barck RMX) [Sonar Kollektiv]

Mono/poly – Ra Rise [Brainfeeder]

Goldbloc ft. Solei – Black Gold [Cllctive]

Low Leaf & King Britt – Rise Up [Fresh Selects]

Eomac – Rising 3 [KILLEKILL]

FaltyDL – Huff & Puff Bruk [Swamp81]

Wiley – On A Level [Big Dada]

Young Fathers – Get Up [Big Dada]

Nocando – Never Looked Better [Hellfyre Club]

Spekulativ Fiktion x Deviant & Naive Ted – Intro [Unscene]

Karl Hector & The Malcouns – Transition A [Now Again]

Fumaca Preta – Recitando A Toa [Soundway]

Lee Fields & The Expressions – in The Woods [Truth & Soul]

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 – Black Woman [Knitting Factory]

Soul Jazz Orchestra – East Of The River Nile [Strut]

Paul White – Honey Cats [R&S]

Ikebe Shakedown – Stone By Stone [Ubiquity]

Trance Farmers – Lone Star [Leaving]

Al Dobson Jr. – Nankoo On Keys [Rhythm Section International]

Jay Electronica ft. Latonya Givens – Better In Tune With The Infinite [Roc Nation]

Max Graef ft. Wayne Snow – Jane (Fur Hannah) [Tartlet]

Taylor McFerrin – Stepps [Brainfeeder]

Tony Allen – Moving On [Jazz Village]

Quantic ft. Thalma de Freitas – Aguas De Sorongo [Tru Thoughts]

SBTRKT – Everybody Knows [Young Turks]

Ana Tijoux – ER-RRRO-R [Nancional]

Tommy KD – Bag A Gear [Anam]

Clap!Clap! – Kuj Yato [Black Acre]

To Be Frank – The Only One [Solebay]

VOIDS – Knowing [Fly High Society]

Jon Phonics – Face Of Spades [First Word]

Gogo Penguin – Garden Dog Barbeque [Gonwana]

Beck – Say Goodbye [Capitol]

Sonzeira – The Plum Blossom [Brownswood]

Neneh Cherry – Everything [Smalltown Supersound]


The Block With Peter Curtin on SPIN South West: Saturday October 11th

17 Oct


On tonight’s show: Peter has new albums from Paul White, Nehruviandoom, Caribou, Otis Brown III and Flying Lotus is the album of the week!  There are big new tracks from Wiley, Hudson Mohawke and BADBADNOTGOOD and Peter pays tribute to the Spaceape who passed away recently.

Listen again here.

Hour 1

Hour 2



Flying Lotus ft. kendrick Lamar – Never Catch me [Warp]

Wiley – On A Level [Big Dada]

Guilty Simpson – Presence [Stones Throw]

Hudson Mohawke – King Kong Beaver [Warp]

Redinho – Playing With Fire [Numbers]

Flying Lotus ft. Captain Murphy – The Boys Who Died In Their Sleep [Warp]

Nehruviandoom – Om [Lex]

Ras G ft. Khaill – Sadiq – Walk With Me [Leaving]

Nuhruviandoom – Darkness (HBU)

Paul White – Fighting To Dance [R&S]

Caribou – Silver [City Slang]

Flying Lotus ft. Thundercat – Descent Into Madness [Warp]

Nikitch – Paused [Chapteau Bruyant]


Fatima – Ridin’ Round (Sky High) [Eglo]

Mark E – Activity [Future Boogie]


Art Ensemble Of Chicago – Theme De Yoyo (Skinnerbox Edit) [Darkroom Dubs]

Jamie XX – Sleep Sound [Young Turks]

Jungle – The Heat (Joy Orbison Remix) [XL]

Flying Lotus ft. Herbie Hancock – Moment Of Hesitation [Warp]

Otis Brown III – The Way (Truth & Life) [Blue Note]

The Black Opera ft. Georgia Anne Muldrow – In The Chambers Of Her Goodness [Someothaship]

Daedelus – Battery Smoke [Brainfeeder]

Paul White – Sitting In Circles [R&S]

Tokimonsta – The Beginning [Young Art]

Kode9 & The Spaceape – Autumn Has Come [Hyperdub]

Earnest Ranglin – More & More Amore [Dub Store Records]

Flying Lotus – Turtles [Warp]

Glass Animals – Gooey (Mike Slott Remix)

Francis Bebey – Blinta Madiallo [Born Bad]