Tag Archives: fLako

The Block with Peter Curtin on SPIN South West: Saturday February 14th

15 Feb


On tonight’s show Peter has new music from BADBADNOTGOOD, Ibeyi, THEESatisfaction and Ady Suleiman. We take a look at some of the big winners from the Grammy awards plus drummer and producer Makaya McCraven joins Peter on the phone to talk about his new project ‘In The Moment’. 

Hour 1

Hour 2



BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah ft. DOOM – Ray Gun [Lex]

Aphex Twin – Minipops 67[120.2][Source Field Mix] [Warp]

Flako – Kuku [Five Easy Pieces]

Melanie De Biasio – I’m Gonna Leave You (Clap!Clap! Remix) [PIAS]

THEESatisfaction – EarthEE [Subpop]

Kendrick Lamar – I [Interscope]

Space Age – Colour Blind [Self]

James Blake – Words That We Both Know [1-800 Dinosaur]

T-woc – Track 07 [Unreleased]

JNTH STEIN x Brasstracks – Laced Up [Self]

Ady Suleiman – So Lost [Sony]

Robert Glasper ft. Lalah Hathaway & Malcolm-Jamal Warner – Jesus Children [Blue Note]

Erykah Badu – Didn’t Cha Know [Motown]

***Classic From The Crates***

Prince Paul – You Made Me (A.K.C.) [Tommy Boy]

Pharrell Williams – Hunter [I Am Other]


Ibeyi – Ghosts [XL]

Francis Bebey – Catching Up [Born Bad]

Segun Bucknor – A Yinde Ogo [Vampi Soul]

Master Plan Inc. – Something To Be Done [Jazzman]

The Buddy Rich Big Band – Bugle Call Rag [Pacific Jazz]

***Makaya McCraven Interview***

Makaya McCraven – Requests [International Anthem]

Stephen McCraven ft. Archie Shepp – Song Of The Forest Boogaraboo [Self]

Cold Duck Complex – I’ve Got A Friend [Dozo]

Makaya McCraven – The Jaunt [International Anthem]

Makaya McCraven – Gnawa [International Anthem]

Makaya McCraven – TomTom [International Anthem]

Makaya McCraven – On The Spot [International Anthem]

Madlib – Cue 4 [Stones Throw]

Makaya McCraven – In The Moment [International Anthem]

Makaya McCraven – Butterscotch [International Anthem]

Robert Glasper – Dillalude 3

Skid Row – Night Of The Warm Witch (Snippet) [CBS]

Portico ft. Joe Newman – 101 [Self]

Chick Corea Trio – Work [Concord]

Beck – Say Goodbye [Capitol]


The Block With Peter Curtin on SPIN South West: Saturday January 17th

19 Jan


On tonight’s show Peter has new music from James Blake, Stray, Beat Spacek The Rongetz Foundation and Mark Ronson plus mc MuRli is in studio for a chat about his new ‘Surface Tension’ ep! 

Hour 1

Hour 2



James Blake – 200 Press [1-800 Dinosaur]

Stray – Matchsticks [Exit]

Jeremiah Jae – Run It (Dough Stop) [HIT + RUN]

Beat Spacek – Modern Streets [Ninja Tune]

Sonzeira – Xibaba (Kyodai Remix) [Brownswood]

The Rongetz Foundation – Cab Samba (Socrates Moves Intro) [Heavenly Sweetness]

Jorge Ben – Chove Chuva [DOL]

***MuRli in Conversation***

MuRli ft. Steve Hanks – Strangerphobia [Self]

Ludacrious – Mouths To Feed [Def Jam]

God Knows ft. MuRli – Throw The Spear [Self]

MuRli – John Coffey [Self]

MuRli – Both Sides [Self]

MuRli ft. God Knows & Guide – Reservations [Self]

MuRli – Run [Self]

Druguse – Hood Rich Life [All City]


Jonwayne ft. Samiyam – Good Samaritans [Self]

Drew Dance – Full Circle [Mello Music]

Binkbeats – The Healer [Self]

DJM Trio – The Official [Paxico]

Thom Yorke – Guess Again [Self]

Jack Garratt – The Love You’re Given [Island]

Flako – Kuku [Five Easy Pieces]

Hanni El Khatib – Two Brothers [Innovative Leisure]

D’Angelo & The Vanguards – Betray My Heart [RCA]

Mark Ronson ft. Kevin Parker – Daffodils [Columbia]

Melanie De Biasio – The Flow [PIAS]

Larry Saunders, Prophet Of Soul – Free Angela [Secret Stash]

*Orlando* – It Sends My Heart Into A Spin [Self]

Alex Patchwork – Untitled Keys [Self]

Fatima – La Neta

30 Jan

Fatima – ‘Family’

21 Nov

New Fatima produced by Flako! This one is definitely getting played on the show this weekend. Check out my interview with Fatima here if you haven’t already done so!

The Block Saturday May 14th

16 May
“Peter has new hip hop beats from Open Eagle Mike, Def Sound and eLZHi, new beats from fLako, Africa Hitech and DJ Shadow plus the new albums from Dennis Coffey and Booker T. Jones, check it!”


Open Mike Eagle – Nightmare [Hellfyre Club]

Def Sound – (A)Gain [White]

eLZHi – It Ain’t Hard To Tell [Elmatic Mixtape]

fLako – Poten [Project Moon Circle]

Mizz Beats – 2 Bit Round [Eglo]

Hodgy Beats – Mystery [CDR]

Alex B. ft. Count Bass D – Trip Splatter [Elm & Oak]

Pusha T. – My God [Decon]

Atmosphere – I Don’t Need Brighter Days [Rhymesayers]

Africa Hitech – Light The Way [Warp]

Sun Ra & His Arkestra – The Sky Is A Sea Of Darkness

The Weeknd – What You Need [White]

40 Winks – Outside The Box [Project Moon Circle]

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Ffunny Ffriends [Fat Possum]

Dennis Coffey ft Mick Collins & Rachel Nagy – I Bet You[Strut]

Dj Shadow – I Gotta Rokk [Island]

Jacques Greene – Another Girl [Lucky Me]


Karl Hector & The Malcouns – Girma’s Lament [Now Again]

Ju Ju’s – Sweet SOngs [Smithsonian]

The Lafayette Afro Rock Band – What You Need [Hifly]

Baby Jaymes – Heart & Soul [CDR]

Michael Kiwanuka – Tell Me A Tale [Communion]

Grey Reverend – One By One [One Motion]

Booker T. Jones ft. Lou Reed – The Bronx [Anti]

eLZHi – The World Is Yours, Represent [Elmatic Mixtape]

The Odd Trio – The Medley (B*stards, Lemonade, Assmilk) [CDR]

Dam Funk – Don’t Give Up [CDR]

Evil Needle – Fuse[White]

Buddy Sativa – Mystic Voyage [Favorite]

Dorian Concept – Her Tears Taste Like Pears [Ninja Tune]

The Block Saturday May 7th

9 May
“Peter has new tracks tonight from eLZHi, fLako, Consequence, Divine Interface, Grey Reverend, Kode 9 and Michael Kiwanuka! , check it!”


eLZHi – Halftime [Ellmatic Mixtape]
fLako – Shake It Harder [Project Moon Circle]
Danny! ft. Von Pea – Hoedown Showdown [CDR]
Mr. Bentley – Venice Beaches [Mixtape]
Consequence – Everybody Told Me [CDR]
The Midnight Eez – Childhood Memories [All City]
Versis – Slow Down [White]
The Beast ft. John Robinson – Keep Your Worries [White]
Lucky Brown – Space Dream [Tramp]
The Odd Trio- Session (Rare Outtake) [CDR]
Tyler, The Creator – Yonkers (Instrumental) [XL]
Dezaray Dawn – Sail Away [Sol Heir Music]
Mayer Hawthorn – No Strings Roller Boogie (DJ Jazzy Jeff Remix) [Stones Throw]
Michael Kiwanuka – Tell Me A Tale [Communion]
Fresh Daily – Art Mirrors [Apt No./High Water Music]
Pharoah Monch – Evolve [Duck Down]
Talib Kweli ft. Kandra Ross – Wait For You [Blacksmith]
Mr. Brady – Road Trippin’ [White]


J*Davey – Rain Check [Self Release]
TOKiMONSTA – Bright Shadows [Brainfeeder]
Divine Interface – Folklore [Spontaneous Rhythm]
Young Montana? – Repetition [Alpha Pup]
Sir Froderick X Knxwledge – alwaysloveyou [Self Release]
Mono/poly – Glow [Brainfeeder]
Hercules & Love Affair – It’s Alright [Moshi Moshi]
Grey Reverend – Walk The Same [Motion Audio]
tUnE YarDs – Wolly Wolly Gong [4AD]
Daedelus ft. Inara George – Penny Loafers [Ninja Tune]
Kode 9 & The Spaceape – Black Sun (Partial Eclipse Version) [Hyperdub]
Mike Gao – End Sequence (Glimpse) [Self Release]
Prommer & Barck – Sleeping Beauty [Derwin]
Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie XX – My Cloud [XL]