Tag Archives: roy ayers

The Block with Peter Curtin on SPIN South West: Saturday April 25th

28 Apr

hiatus k

On tonight’s show Peter has new music from Eagle Nebula, Tyler, The Creator, Yellowstraps, Toro Y Moi, Kamasi Washington, Mavis Staples, Lil Silva, Hudson Mohawke, Onra, Roots Manuva and Kendrick Lamar plus ‘Choose Your Weapon’ from Hiatus Kaiyote is the album of the week! 

Hour 1

Hour 2



Hiatus Kaiyote – Boderline With My Atoms [Flying Buddha/Sony]

Lil Silva – 606 [Good Years]

Hudson Mohawke – Ryderz [Warp]

Oddisee – That’s Love [Mello Music]

Kendrick Lamar ft. Rapsody – Complexion (A Zulu Love) [Top Dawg ENT]

Onra ft. Chuck Inglish – So Long [All City]

Knxwledge – JStowee [Stones Throw]

Jesse Fischer & Sly5thAve – Vein Melter [Tru Thoughts]

INNOCENTFungus – Pass The Paper [Self]

Bolts – Beginning [Fly High Society]

Maalem Mahmoud Guinia & Floating Points – Mimoum Marhaba [Eglo]

Roots Manuva – Like A Drum [Big Dada]

Nonku Phiri – Things We Do On A Weekend [Albino Black]

Uffe – I Can Show You High [Tartelet]

Clerk 5 X Naive Ted – Troublesome [Free DL]


Hiatus Kaiyote – Fingerprints [Flying Buddha/Sony]

Eagle Nebula – Eternal Sunshine [Self]

Gaby Hernandez – Messy Love [Self]

Tyler, the Creator ft. Roy Ayers – FIND YOUR WINGS [Odd Future]

Roy Ayers – Don’t Stop The Feeling [Polydor]

Toro Y Moi – The Flight [Carpark]

Yellowstraps – Dizzy State [1M Records]

LA Priest – Oino [Domino]

Hiatus Kaiyote – The Lung [Flying Buddha/Sony]

Amanaz – Africa [Now Again]

Mavis Staples – Fight [Self]

Dayme Arocena – Sin Empezar [Brownswood]

Kamasi Washington – Miss Understanding [Brainfeeder]


May 30th

3 Jun
“we are celebrating the bank holiday weekend and the onset of the fine weather with a sunshine mix, plus new music from kylie auldist, the juan maclean and dj hell, check it!!”


sons & daughters of lite – let the sunshine in
james reese & the progressions – let’s go (it’s summertime)
build an ark – sunshine
galt macdermott – let the sunshine in
koop – summer sun
sarah vaughan – summertime (ufo remix)
jackson conti – sunset at sujinho
the long lost – amiss
quincy jones – summer in the city
kashmere stage band – ain’t no sunshine (oh no remix)
lee perry – city too hot
stevie wonder – master blaster (jammin’)
horace andy – love is the light
roots manuva – again & again
shirley scott – soul sauce
from leaf to feather – night sun


kylie auldist – made of stone
ohmega watts – say whay u say
j dilla ft black thought – reality check
lettuce ft dwele – move on up
the juan maclean – accusations
quarteto em cy – tudo que voce podia ser
medeski martin & wood – lets go everywhere
tony hatch & the satin brass- herbin’
bronx river parkway – deixa ora la
lorez alexandra – send in the clowns
charles lloyd – sombrero sam
willie bobo – diferente
chico mann – soul freedom
dj hell – the angst & the angst pt 2
roy ayers – everybody loves the sunshine